Dining group celebrate 60 years

Cowell Beefsteak and Burgundy members at the anniversary dinner. Back: Ty Kade, Paul Bammann, Kim Baum, Cameron Thompson, Dean Hannaford, Terry Rehn, Mark Jarvis, Angus Mills; front: Brad Mills, Paul Kaden, president Phil Cook, Allan Zerna, John Chillman, John Price, Sean O’Brien, Scott Earle and Stephen Fiegert. PHOTOS: SUPPLIED
- Advertisement -

Cowell Beefsteak and Burgundy Club recently celebrated its 60th anniversary dinner at the Franklin Harbour Hotel – where the club originally formed in 1964.

- Advertisement -

Club president Phil Cook said 60 years was a long time for a wine application club and past and present members attended.

He said club records showed there had been between 75 and 80 members, with 21 now.

Members meet four times a year with a dinner at either the Commercial Hotel or Franklin Harbour Hotel, plus two dinners at alternative private venues.

A perpetual trophy named in honour of life member Dr Brian Thompson is awarded to the winner of the correct guess of wine of the evening.

Dr Thompson was the club’s only life member until the anniversary dinner, when Paul Kaden and Allan Zerna were also honoured.

Both have been involved in the club and served various committee positions for more than 40 years.

Phil said a great night was had by all and well catered for by the Franklin Harbour Hotel.

- Advertisement -